Cheltenham is governed at local level by a combination of councils:

Gloucestershire County Council (currently under a Conservative administration with the Liberal Democrats as the main opposition party) is responsible for major spending areas such as libraries, schools and education, social services, waste disposal (but not collection), on-street parking and transport and roads through their agency Gloucestershire Highways. Contact details:

Gloucestershire County Council
Shire Hall
Gloucester GL1 2TG
01452 425000 (8.30am- 5pm, Monday – Friday)
Social care out-of-hours emergencies: 01452 614194
Glos Highways out-of-hours emergencies: 08000 514514
Minicom (for those with hearing difficulties): 01452 426460

County Councillors represent large ‘divisions’.  To find your local county councillor, click here.

Next elections due May 2013 - the whole council is elected once every four years

Cheltenham Borough Council (currently under Liberal Democrat administration with the Conservatives as the main opposition party) is responsible for local planning permission, council housing (along with their agency Cheltenham Borough Homes), leisure facilities, environmental health, waste collection (but not disposal), some car parks and for running some key local buildings such as the Town Hall, Pittville Pumproom and the Art Gallery & Museum. Contact details: 

Cheltenham Borough Council
Municipal Offices
Gloucestershire GL50 9SA

01242 262626

40 Borough Councillors represent 20 ‘wards’ much smaller than the county ‘divisions’.  To find your local borough councilor, click here.

Next elections due May 2014 -  one council seat in each ward (half the council) comes up for election every two years, the normal term of office being four years.

parish councils
Some but not all parts of Cheltenham are also represented by one of five parish councils.  They have important rights to be consulted on planning issues and can have powers to  manage local pathways, green spaces, monuments and buildings.  Don’t believe the Vicar of Dibley though – they are elected and have no connection to religious parishes or vicars!  Each does have its own paid official, the Parish Clerk.

The five parish councils are:

  • Leckhampton & Warden Hill

Mrs A Winstone
Clerk to Leckhampton Parish Council
7 Aldershaw Close
Up Hatherley
GL51 3TP

01242 518008

Next elections due May 2014 - the whole council is elected once every four years.

  • Up Hatherley

Mrs K Oakey
Clerk to Up Hatherley Parish Council
15 Holmer Crescent
Up Hatherley
GL51 3LR
01242 527770

  • Charlton Kings

 Mr A J Potts
Clerk to Charlton Kings Parish Council
26 Church Street
Church Piece
Charlton Kings
GL53 8AR

01242 250087

  • Prestbury

Mr K Thomas 
Clerk to Prestbury Parish Council
c/o Cheltenham Racecourse
Evesham Road
GL50 4SH

01242 527571

  • Swindon Village

Mr S J Holley
Clerk to Swindon Parish Council
87 Curlew Road
01452 543914

Councils in Cheltenham
also visit
Cheltenham Website
National Website

Martin Horwood is your Liberal Democrat
Member of Parliament for Cheltenham
working for a fairer,
greener, safer community
News About Martin About Cheltenham About Parliament ASHA Studios Trase UK Ltd