Councils in Cheltenham

Cheltenham is governed at local level by a combination of councils:

Gloucestershire County Council 

Currently under a Conservative administration with the Liberal Democrats as the main opposition party, is responsible for major spending areas such as libraries, schools and education, social services, waste disposal (but not collection), on-street parking and transport and roads through their agency Gloucestershire Highways. Contact details:

Gloucestershire County Council
Shire Hall
Gloucestershire GL1 2TG

Telephone: 01452 425000 (8.30am- 5pm, Monday – Friday)

Social care out-of-hours emergencies: 01452 614194
Glos Highways out-of-hours emergencies: 08000 514514
Minicom (for those with hearing difficulties): 01452 426460

County Councillors represent large ‘divisions’.  To find your local county councillor, click here.

Next elections due May 2017 - the whole council is elected once every four years 


Cheltenham Borough Council

Currently under Liberal Democrat administration with the Conservatives as the main opposition party, is responsible for local planning permission, council housing (along with their agency Cheltenham Borough Homes), leisure facilities, environmental health, waste collection (but not disposal), some car parks and for running some key local buildings such as the Town Hall, Pittville Pump room and the Art Gallery & Museum. Contact details: 

Cheltenham Borough Council
Municipal Offices
Gloucestershire GL50 9SA

Telephone: 01242 262626 

Forty Borough Councillors represent twenty ‘wards’ much smaller than the county ‘divisions’.  To find your local borough councilor, click here.

Next elections due May 2016 -  one council seat in each ward (half the council) comes up for election every two years, the normal term of office being four years.


Parish councils

Some but not all parts of Cheltenham are also represented by one of five parish councils.  They have important rights to be consulted on planning issues and can have powers to  manage local pathways, green spaces, monuments and buildings.  Don’t believe the Vicar of Dibley though – they are elected and have no connection to religious parishes or vicars!  Each does have its own paid official, the Parish Clerk.

The five parish councils are:

  • Leckhampton & Warden Hill

Mrs A Winstone
Clerk to Leckhampton Parish Council
7 Aldershaw Close
Up Hatherley
GL51 3TP

01242 518008

Next elections due May 2018 - the whole council is elected once every four years.

  • Up Hatherley

Mrs K Oakey 
Clerk to Up Hatherley Parish Council 
15 Holmer Crescent
Up Hatherley
GL51 3LR
01242 527770

  • Charlton Kings

Mr A J Potts 
Clerk to Charlton Kings Parish Council 
26 Church Street
Church Piece
Charlton Kings
GL53 8AR

01242 250087

  • Prestbury

Mr K Thomas 
Clerk to Prestbury Parish Council 
c/o Cheltenham Racecourse
Evesham Road
GL50 4SH

01242 527571 

  • Swindon Village

Mr S J Holley 
Clerk to Swindon Parish Council 
87 Curlew Road 
01452 543914