Cheltenham is governed at local level by a combination of councils:

Gloucestershire County Council (currently under a Conservative administration with the Liberal Democrats as the main opposition party) is responsible for major spending areas such as transport (including local roads and on-street parking), libraries, schools and education, social services and waste disposal (but not collection). Roads are managed through their agency Gloucestershire Highways. Contact details:

Gloucestershire County Council
Shire Hall
Gloucester GL1 2TG
01452 425000 (8.30am- 5pm, Monday – Friday)
Social care out-of-hours emergencies: 01452 614194
Glos Highways emergencies: 08000 514 514
County Councillors represent large ‘divisions’.  To find your local county councillor, click here.

The next county elections are due in May 2021.  The whole council is elected once every four years


Cheltenham Borough Council (currently led by the Liberal Democrats with the Conservatives as the main opposition party) is responsible for local planning permission, council housing (along with their agency Cheltenham Borough Homes), arts, entertainment and leisure facilities, environmental health, recycling and waste collection (but not disposal) and some car parks.  The council has delegated the running of the Town Hall, Pittville Pump Room, Wilson art gallery & museum, Leisure@ and Prince of WalesCheltenham Borough Council on the Prom Stadium to the new charitable Cheltenham Trust.  Recycling and waste collection is shared with neighbouring councils through the jointly owned not-for-profit enterprise Ubico.

The council's contact details are: 

Cheltenham Borough Council
Municipal Offices
Gloucestershire GL50 9SA

01242 262626

40 Borough Councillors represent 20 neighbourhood ‘wards’ much smaller than the county ‘divisions’ with two councillors for each ward.  To find your local borough councillor, click here.

The next borough elections are due in May 2018.  Half the council (one council seat in each ward) comes up for election every two years, the normal term of office being four years.


Parish councils
Some but not all parts of Cheltenham are also represented by one of five parish councils.  They have important rights to be consulted on planning issues and can have powers to  manage local pathways, green spaces, monuments and buildings.  Don’t believe the Vicar of Dibley though – they are elected and have no connection to religious parishes or vicars!  Each does have its own paid official, the Parish Clerk.

The five parish councils are:

Leckhampton with Warden Hill

Mrs A Winstone
Clerk to Leckhampton with Warden Hill Parish Council 
7 Aldershaw Close
Up Hatherley
Cheltenham GL51 3TP

Next elections due May 2018 - the whole council is elected once every four years.

Up Hatherley

Mrs K Oakey
Clerk to Up Hatherley Parish Council
15 Holmer Crescent
Up Hatherley
Cheltenham GL51 3LR

Charlton Kings

Mr A J Potts
Clerk to Charlton Kings Parish Council
26 Church Street
Church Piece
Charlton Kings
GL53 8AR


Mr K Thomas 
Clerk to Prestbury Parish Council
c/o Cheltenham Racecourse
Evesham Road
GL50 4SH

Swindon Village

Mr S J Holley
Clerk to Swindon Parish Council
87 Curlew Road
Gloucester GL4 4TF